C. The Great Divorce – C.S. Lewis

Since I read Screwtape Letters not too long ago, when I was at my mom’s house and she had a copy of The Great Divorce sitting on her kitchen counter, I borrowed it. I really enjoyed it. It’s a more regular, narrative structure (since Screwtape Letters is all letters) and that makes it a little easier to stay focused. It’s also more descriptive and appealing to the imagination.

For me personally, the “people-watching” feeling of it was especially great. I have a hard time understanding people, but I find it interesting to sit back and watch them and try to figure out what they’re thinking later. Most of the book felt like this – here’s a conversation or an individual or a situation, here’s what happens, why? What happened in their life that prompted them to act this way? What things about their experiences or personality prompted them to make those choices?

One thing I really admire about Lewis’ writing style is how efficient he is. There are such big ideas and so many thoughts packed into so few (about 150) pages. I feel like I can read his books over and over because even though it’s not a huge investment of time, the ideas are complex enough that I learn something new each time.

C. The Great Divorce – C.S. Lewis

2 thoughts on “C. The Great Divorce – C.S. Lewis

Leave a comment